Treacherous Three

The Treacherous Three is a pioneering hip-hop group from the South Bronx, New York. The group was formed in the late 1970s and consisted of Kool Moe Dee, Special K, LA Sunshine, and DJ Easy Lee. They were known for their fast-paced rhyming style, complex wordplay, and innovative use of turntables.

The group released their first single, “The New Rap Language,” in 1980 on Enjoy Records. The single was a critical success and helped to establish the group’s reputation as one of the most exciting acts in hip-hop. The group followed up with several more successful singles, including “Feel the Heartbeat” and “Whip It.”

In 1982, the group released their debut album, “The Treacherous Three,” which featured the classic tracks “Action,” “The Body Rock,” and “At the Party.” The album was a critical and commercial success and helped to establish the group as one of the leading acts in hip-hop.

The Treacherous Three continued to release music throughout the 1980s, including the albums “Old School Flava” (1985) and “Kool Moe Dee’s Greatest Hits” (1987). However, by the end of the decade, the group had begun to dissolve due to creative differences and personal issues.

Kool Moe Dee went on to have a successful solo career, releasing several critically acclaimed albums in the late 1980s and early 1990s. Special K and LA Sunshine also released solo albums, but were not as successful as Kool Moe Dee. DJ Easy Lee retired from the music industry and became a schoolteacher.

Despite their relatively short career, the Treacherous Three had a significant impact on the development of hip-hop. Their fast-paced rhyming style and innovative use of turntables helped to define the sound of early hip-hop and inspired countless artists who followed in their footsteps. The group’s influence can be heard in the work of artists such as Run-DMC, LL Cool J, and Public Enemy.

Author: admin