Funky 4 + 1

Funky 4 + 1 was a hip hop group from The Bronx, New York, formed in 1976. The original members included MC Sha-Rock (the first female MC in hip hop history), KK Rockwell, Keith Keith, and Rahiem. Later, DJ Breakout (also known as Wayne Keaton) joined the group as their DJ.


Funky 4 + 1 gained attention for their innovative style and live performances, which often included MC Sha-Rock’s dynamic rhymes and KK Rockwell’s breakdancing skills. In 1979, they became the first hip hop group to perform on national television, when they appeared on “Saturday Night Live.”


In 1980, the group signed a recording contract with Enjoy Records and released their first single, “Rappin’ and Rocking the House.” The single was a hit and helped to establish Funky 4 + 1 as one of the leading groups in hip hop at the time.


In 1981, the group released their first album, “That’s the Joint,” which featured the hit title track as well as the classic songs “Feel It (The Mexican)” and “You’re the One for Me.” The album is considered a landmark in hip hop history and helped to establish Funky 4 + 1’s legacy as one of the pioneers of the genre.


Despite their success, the group experienced some lineup changes over the years. In 1982, Rahiem left the group and was replaced by Jazzy Jeff. Later, MC Sha-Rock left to pursue a solo career and was replaced by Debbie D. The group continued to perform and record music, but never achieved the same level of success as their early years.


Today, Funky 4 + 1 is recognized as one of the most important groups in the early history of hip hop, known for their innovative style, dynamic performances, and contributions to the development of the genre. They have influenced generations of hip hop artists and continue to be celebrated for their groundbreaking contributions to music history.


Author: admin