Ultramagnetic Mcs

Ultramagnetic MCs is a hip-hop group from the Bronx, New York, known for their innovative and experimental approach to rap music. The group was formed in 1984 by Kool Keith (Keith Thornton), Ced Gee (Cedric Miller), TR Love (Trevor Randolph), and Moe Love (Maurice Smith).

The group’s debut single, “Ego Tripping,” was released in 1986 and quickly gained attention for its abstract lyrics, innovative production, and unconventional use of samples. The song was produced by Ced Gee, who had developed a reputation as a master of sampling and beat-making.

In 1988, Ultramagnetic MCs released their debut album, “Critical Beatdown,” which is widely regarded as a classic of the hip-hop genre. The album featured innovative production techniques, complex lyrics, and a range of eclectic samples, including from sources as diverse as Frank Zappa, Kraftwerk, and Led Zeppelin. “Critical Beatdown” helped to establish Ultramagnetic MCs as one of the most innovative and influential groups in hip-hop at the time.

In the years that followed, Ultramagnetic MCs continued to push the boundaries of hip-hop with a series of critically acclaimed albums, including “Funky/Mentally Mad” (1992) and “The Four Horsemen” (1993). The group’s members also pursued solo careers, with Kool Keith releasing a series of critically acclaimed albums under a variety of aliases, including Dr. Octagon and Black Elvis.

In addition to their musical achievements, Ultramagnetic MCs were also known for their fashion sense, with Kool Keith and Ced Gee frequently sporting flamboyant outfits and jewelry on stage and in music videos.

Today, Ultramagnetic MCs are recognized as pioneers of the underground hip-hop movement, with their innovative production techniques, abstract lyrics, and unconventional use of samples influencing countless artists in the genre. The group’s legacy continues to be felt in the hip-hop scene today, and they remain one of the most innovative and influential groups in the history of the genre.

Author: admin